Skip to content

5 Online Sources of Inspiration

January 3, 2011

I am so excited about this new year. How about you?

My theme for the year is to be fearless – recognizing fear when it shows up and blasting right through it. This is the year for me to thrive as an artist, which is why I joined Melissa Dinwiddie’s Thriving Artist Project. We are a group of artists helping each other and discussing the content provided by Melissa.

If you would like to be inspired, to be creative, to follow your passions, to thrive this year, there are all kinds of resources online that can help.

Here are 5 of my favorites.

1. 365 Days of Genius – also by Melissa Dinwiddie, this site just launched on January 1st. Join a community dedicated to discovering the genius in each one of us, with genius resources, a blog, and free e-course on creativity.

2. TED talks – Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world. If you have not heard of TED Talks, you are in for a treat. These mostly 20 minute talks are available for free online, and if you ever need a dose of inspiration and have 20 minutes to spare, this is the place to go. May I recommend Steve Jobs commencement address at Stanford University, How to Live Before You Die? (15 minutes)

3. On Being, a radio program on NPR – A one hour interview program with host Krista Tippett and some of the most fascinating people in the world. They discuss the big questions in life, the latest in science, and evolving faith.  I have a women’s group that listens to these talks and then discusses them together. I have the podcasts automatically downloaded to iTunes and listen to them on my iPod. Their are also online resources to go with the interviews. I recommend “The Inner Landscape of Beauty” with poet and writer John O’Donohue.

4. Follow any one or all of these inspiring blogs – White Hot Truth with Danielle Laporte, The Art of Nonconformity with Chris Guillebeau, Conversations at the Crossroads of Work, Play, Entrepreneurship and Life with Jonathon Fields, Zen Habits with Leo Babauta.

5. Integral Life – Inspired by the work of philosopher Ken Wilber, Integral Life offers a challenging exploration of the evolution of human consciousness and spirituality. The site says, “Living integrally means a life where things finally make sense through broader and deeper awareness.” There is free content as well as in-depth content with a paid subscription. I do not have the paid subscription but I really get a lot from the free content plus I have purchased some integral life books.

Well, no excuses now. You’ve just been given five options for inspiration online. Do you have favorite sites for inspiration online?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 9:48 am

    This is a great collection of some of the most inspiring blogs and resources on the internet. I particularly enjoy visiting the TED site and listening to speeches from truly amazing people.

    May I also humbly add one of my own sites: http://inspirationzone.co.uk to the list? We launched just a few months ago but many people have already told me that it is making a real difference to their lives.

  2. January 4, 2011 2:29 am

    Thanks for the mentions, Kim! I’m honored to be in such illustrious company!

    I hadn’t heard of On Being (surprising, since I listen to so much NPR!) Sounds fantastic – I will definitely have to check it out!

    Here’s to an inspiring, creative and thriving 2011!
    🙂

  3. detchison permalink
    January 4, 2011 3:53 am

    these are great! thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 5 Online Sources of Inspiration « be.inspired -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

