Skip to content

Who are you?

November 29, 2010

The answer to this question gets to the root of what inspires you.

Jonathon Fields, author of Career Renegade: How to Make a Great Living Doing What You Love, inspires me right now. He identifies  himself as the following on his Twitter feed.

Dad, husband, creation-obsessed author & entrepreneur. 85% dark chocolate is my god. Nature is my muse. Presence is my practice. Impact is my goal.

This tells me quite a bit about Jonathon Fields, and not just from a career perspective. Family comes first. He loves to write, create and connect. I would bet that nature is a way for him to recharge and practice presence. He wants his work to make a difference in other people’s lives.

So, here’s a little exercise that is not so much about branding as it is in knowing who you really are. It is in knowing and being yourself that your greatest inspirations will come.

Here’s mine.

Mom and wife, photographer and writer, learning to see. Music is my god. Books are my muse. Awareness is my practice. Inspiration is my goal.

This is not set in stone. We are all constantly changing and evolving so whatever we come up with can change over time too, as we become more self-aware.

So, who are you right now? Answer the following.

Your tag line in six words –

Your god (notice small letters, what would you not want to live without?) –

Your muse (who or what inspires you?) –

Your practice (what do you do to work towards your goal?) –

Your goal (what difference do you want to make?) –

Are you finished? Please share if you want.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

